My Farewell to Lotus

After a long and prosperous road through the “Yellow Community”, I’ll be hanging up my Lotus (I know, I’m old school) hat and moving on.  I’m sad for many reasons, but excited more than I can tell you about my new position. I owe a lot to this community of friends and colleagues and can’t thank you enough.

At Lotusphere 2009, Gregg Eldred and Tom Duff lead a Birds of a Feather on Social Media.  It changed the way I worked, communicated and helped lead me to my new position.  After that session, I signed up for Twitter and started connecting on many social sites.  Over the years, many of you helped me out in ways you probably don’t even remember.  It helped me build relationships, friendships and partnerships.  I’ve gotten advice and shared advice.  I’ve heckled you with your sports teams, and taken it right back.  I’ve given support for many in tough situations and I’ve gotten that back when I needed it most.  It taught me to run a successful hockey website and how to use social tools to market that to coaches, players and parents all over the world.  It helped lead me to where I’m going.

At the end of the month, I’ll be joining SnapRetail! as the Director of Product Management.  I’ll get to guide the future of their solutions that help small businesses and retail shop successfully use social, email and their website to grow their business.  If it wasn’t for the BOF that morning and connecting with this community, I’m not sure I would have landed where I did.  So to many of you, I say Thank you.

While I’m sad that I won’t see you at IBM Connect or MWLUG or any other conference, I know the friends I’ve made will remain. While I’ll be completely out of the IBM Domino world, I’ll still be well connected and within in reach of all of you.  Please, stay connected.

 

9 thoughts on “My Farewell to Lotus

  1. Congrats on the new gig and I am sure you will be excellent at it.

  2. Congrats and best of luck!

  3. Denny, congratulations on the new job – best wishes in this new venture. You’ll do great!

  4. Wow… little did I know anyone even remembered that one, much less had it affect them in such a profound way. Good luck in your new adventures, and thank you for letting me know. It means a lot.

  5. Wow – all the best, and don’t be a stranger!

  6. Congrats and best wishes!

  7. Best of luck to you, Denny! It will be sad to see you go, but happy that you have a great adventure ahead of you!

  8. Thank you everyone. Please stay in touch.

  9. Good luck in your new position, you’ll gonna do just fine. Catch you online during the Pens and Steelers games.

Leave a Reply

